Award-Winning Ahrens & Flaherty Release LEGACY To Join Beloved Musical Theatre Catalog

Last updated November 24th, 2020 by BroadwayBox Staff
Award-Winning Ahrens & Flaherty Release LEGACY To Join Belo…

Photo by Joan Marcus and Matthew Murphy

Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty have provided the words and music to over a dozen musicals that are beloved by many and highly acclaimed earning Tony, Academy, and Golden Globe Awards to name a few. This coming December, fans have a new album of unheard music by the award-winning duo with Broadway Records' release of Legacy.

Legacy Ahrens Flaherty

Seussical, Ragtime, Once On This Island - tried and true cast albums on repeat to musical theatre aficionados. Legacy, an album of two song cycles produced by the duo and Michael J Moritz Jr, stars Jason Danieley, Marin Mazzie, Steven Pasquale and Sarah Uriarte Berry comprised from demos recorded in 2004. One song cycle is 1859: A FARMER’S DIARY, songs based on an upstate New York farmer's diary excerpts over the course of one year, revealing the joys and sorrows of an unpredictable life. The second, A BOY WITH A CAMERA, was inspired by photographs taken by Lynn Ahrens's father in the 1940 and 1950s celebrating New York City.

In anticipation of this newly released work, we look back at six tunes Lynn Ahrens and Stephen Flaherty gloriously wrote for their leading ladies.

"Journey To The Past" from Anastasia

"Funny" from My Favorite Year

"Waiting For Life" from Once On This Island

"Back To Before" from Ragtime

"Raining" from Rocky

"Notice Me Horton" from Seussical The Musical

For more information on Legacy, visit