A Look Back on the Other Eight Pulitzer Prize-Winning Musicals That Join Hamilton in History

Last updated April 18th, 2016 by Josh Ferri
A Look Back on the Other Eight Pulitzer Prize-Winning Music…

Today, the groundbreaking musical Hamilton

becomes the ninth musical since 1917 to win the highly-coveted Pulitzer Prize for Drama, and its author, Lin-Manuel Miranda, becomes the second winner, after Jonathan Larson, to be solely credited for music, lyrics, and book of the award-winning musical.

Below, BroadwayBox enjoys a mini YouTube spiral of the other eight history-making musicals.

Of Thee I Sing (1932)

Music by George Gershwin, lyrics by Ira Gershwin, book by George S Kaufman and Morrie Ryskind.

South Pacific (1950)

Music by Richard Rodgers, lyrics by and Oscar Hammerstein II, book by Hammerstein and Joshua Logan.

Fiorello! (1960)

Music by Jerry Bock, lyrics by Sheldon Harnick, book by Jerome Weidman & George Abbott.

How to Succeed in Business Without Really Trying (1962)

Music and lyrics by Frank Loesser, book by Abe Burrows, Jack Weinstock & Willie Gilbert.

A Chorus Line (1976)

Music by Marvin Hamlisch, lyrics by Edward Kleban, book by James Kirkwood & Nicholas Dante.

Sunday in the Park with George (1985)

Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim; book by James Lapine.

Rent (1996)

Music, lyrics and book by Jonathan Larson.

Next to Normal (2010)

Music by Tom Kitt, lyrics and book by Brian Yorkey.

The Pulitzer Prize-winning musical 'Hamilton' plays Broadway's Richard Rodgers Theatre.