Discount Broadway Tickets

The Future of Broadway Is Now! Take A Listen to 2017’s Jonathan Larson Grant Recipients

Last updated February 7th, 2017 by BroadwayBox Staff
The Future of Broadway Is Now! Take A Listen to 2017’s Jona…

The American Theatre Wing announced the recipients of this year’s Jonathan Larson Grants. Named after the Tony and Pulitzer Prize-winning Rent creator, the prestigious grant awards $10,000 to each of the emerging composers, lyricists and book writers. Past recipients of Jonathan Larson Grants whose work can be seen on Broadway this year are Dear Evan Hansen’s Benj Pasek & Justin Paul, The Great Comet’s Dave Malloy, Amelie’s Daniel Messe & Nathan Tysen, and War Paint’s Michael Korie. Scroll on as Bbox takes a look at the work of 2017’s four recipients—perhaps your new favorite Broadway composer/lyricist is in there.

Ben Bonnema (book, music and lyrics)

Boys Who Tricked Me Trailer

Slash: A New Musical

"A Fella's Got to Have"

Maggie-Kate Coleman & Erato A. Kremmyda (music and lyrics)


"I Don’t Want To Know Your Name"

Ty Defoe & Tidtaya Sinutoke (book, music and lyrics)




Michael R. Jackson (book, music and lyrics)

"Secretly Hoping"

"All For the Love of a White Boy"

"Bathtub at the Beverly Hills Hotel"