Wicked Reviews

One of Broadway's most popular shows, Wicked tells the unbelievable backstory behind The Wizard of Oz's Glinda the Good and Elphaba, the green girl that becomes the Wicked Witch of the West. This family-friendly musical is the definition of a Broadway spectacular, with award-winning sets, costumes and special effects.

Latest Reviews for Wicked

Did you see this?

Tell us what you think!

Wicked

The best play I've seen this year will recommend you see this play

Written on July, 31st 2017

Amazing from start to finish!

The plot was interesting and I was surprised how the writing and performance kept all ages engaged. The set, special effects, and singing were outstanding. The entire play did not disappoint. The actresses who played Glenda and Elphaba were on point and Sheryl Lee Ralph was great.Three words: Go see it!

Written on July, 26th 2017

A Wicked Show

Wicked was so amazing!!! I would see it every day if I could. The cast did an amazing job. Kara Lindsay portrayed Glinda so well. She was very talented vocally and super funny. Jenny DiNoia was amazing as Elphaba!! She is a fantastic performer. What a great story.

Written on July, 12th 2017

WOW

Incredible! The cast is amazing and all of the singers, especially the woman who plays Elfaba, was so powerful! The sets were fantastic! And the song "Defying Gravity" was beautifully done, and with very powerful vocals! The plot was very interesting and made me think about how lies and rumors, can change the story completely. I really loved this musical.

Written on May, 27th 2017

Chicago musical

This is a must to visit place in New York and enjoy one of great musical. I've been on Chicago musical. It was amazing show.

Written on March, 23rd 2017

excellent show! MUST SEE

I loved the whole show the cast is very talented. I would see it again for sure.

Written on March, 19th 2017

Loved it

So I went with my dance company and I loved it. The plot is amazing, the songs and choreography are so beautiful. It teaches people to look at it from other people's points of view.

Written on January, 14th 2017

A Wicked Good Time

Everyone knows the story of The Wizard of Oz but what if I told you the story you know wasn’t the whole story. Wicked tells the story behind the green skin and the pointy hat of the Wicked Witch of the West, or Elphaba, and how she became, well, wicked. As the Munchkin Land Tour marched into the Hippodrome Theater in Baltimore, MD, theater-goers marveled at Wicked, a thematic and visually dynamic musical that was a guaranteed wickedly good time. Wicked entertains as it teaches the audience important lessons from a re-telling of a classic story. Elphaba is an outsider and an outcast, despised for her green skin. Her father hates her, everyone she goes to school with makes fun of her and her roommate, Galinda, is the epitome of popular. She is made out to be an evil witch as she tries to save the mistreated animals of Oz and expose the Wizard as a fraud but realizes he is a symbol of order and hope.. Despite all of her problems and loneliness, she learns to rise above the negativity and embrace who she is. She accepts her fate in order to ensure Galinda, the Wizard’s Advisor, has a chance to maintain peace and optimism in OZ. Elphaba is an example of bravery, confidence and compassion and these are important characteristics to promote. Elphaba’s story is a journey that is fresh and new with the backdrop of a classic story featuring beloved characters. It offers a new perspective on an old story and amuses viewers of all ages The set plays a large part in the musical’s successes. As soon as you enter the theater and take your seats a giant metal dragon looming over the top of the stage entices viewers to ponder what will happen next. Under the dragon is a map of the fictional OZ as the Emerald City glows green in the center. The green light sparkles and grows brighter as time ticks closer to show time. When the curtain raises the backdrop of clocks and gears appear with a bright colorful lights behind them to show off the silhouettes of the set. Throughout the show the gears move, the clock ticks and lights change as the story progresses to reflect the feelings of the characters and to reflect the idea of time and perpetual motion. Often spot lights illuminate a single character during dramatic moments, a green one in Elphaba’s case. At the close of the first act, Elphaba has a climactic scene where she embraces her wickedness and sings ‘Defying Gravity’, the show’s hit song. As she sings she floats up on her broom and her black cape completely envelops the stage and becomes the backdrop for the other characters. Against the black cape, her green skin is accentuated and your eye goes directly to her during the central moment of the musical. The spotlights show the billowing cape and the smoke rising from behind the stage as green and purple lights dance around her. This is a dramatic and pivotal scene that is brought to life by the technical aspects of the show and remains in the memory of anyone who sees it. The lights and setting takes the musical to a whole new level that really engages the audience. Wicked’s popularity as a “blockbuster musical” lives up to the hype and is like a once-in-a lifetime movie going experience. The lighting and stage design provide an emphasis on the characters feelings and emotions and demands to be watched. This musical has powerful and inspirational messages and is not a musical one can passively watch without becoming attached to the characters. I would recommend Wicked to any fan of the Wizard of Oz, anyone who enjoys the re imaging of classic stories or to anyone who just likes to be entertained.

Written on April, 26th 2015

For Good

Wicked is a breathtaking experience. This is pure Broadway material, a blockbuster. It is a tale that everybody will for sure love and relate to. The songs are unbelievable! The decors and costumes are outstanding! It will inspire the audience and actors to be. Outstanding performances! The wickledly amazing talents will blow your mind. It's like being transported into the land of Oz. Check out the vlogs that are done by the artists if you want to know some more informations on what's going on behind the green curtain.

Written on March, 7th 2015

Wicked Review

I saw the show in December of 2013 and it was nothing short of AMAZING! Although, it was a little lengthy I was entertained the whole time. The costumes were amazing as was the music, special effects and scenery. The vocals were outstanding (Elphaba- Lindsay Mendez, Glinda- Alli Mauzey, Nessa-Catherine Charlebois, Fiyero- Derek Klena, Dr. Dillamond- John Shiappa, The Wonderful Wizard of Oz- Tom McGowan, Madame Morrible- Carol Kane) If you have not yet seen it, I highly suggest that you see it, I guarantee you will never forget it. It is worth every penny.

Written on January, 31st 2015

Showing 1 - 10 of 20