Discount up to 25%

Avenue Q Reviews

The Tony-winning musical Avenue Q continues its popular off-Broadway run at New World Stages. This jaw-dropping, side-splitting look at life after college is set in a world where puppets and humans live on the same "street," like an R-rated version of everyone's favorite childhood television program.

Latest Reviews for Avenue Q

Did you see this?

Tell us what you think!

Clever, Funny and Very Original

My husband and I saw Avenue Q three years ago and just saw it again and thoroughly enjoyed it. Great new off-Broadway cast with tremendous talent and fantastic voices. We felt as though we saw a whole new show.

Written on July, 11th 2013

Best Musical I Ever Seen

This is absolutely the best musical which is now off-Broadway. You will laugh like you never laugh before. I have never been at a show where the entire audience is just rotfl. The current cast is actually even more talented than the original cast and there is added nuances and changes that make the current production better than the original production on Broadway. Veronica Kuehn who does Kate Monster and the voices and singing of other characters is extremely talented and wonderful and just a joy to watch. A lot of people dismiss this show because the characters are puppets but these puppets have a lot heart...much more than some of the human characters you see in other shows and this is mostly due to an impeccable witty script with amazingly talented puppeteers than can really sing. Remember, this is the show that beat Wicked for Best Musical. Not an easy task as the latter has been #1 in the box office like forever.

Written on October, 27th 2011

A MUST SEE.

I was laughing from start to finish.I can hardly stand for the ovation as my stomach was aching and gassy from laughing.It is a joke which is really happening in real life.For those who find the joke dirty was not true to themselves and is on denial.It is a must see.You'll die laughing.

Written on October, 10th 2010

Either the Funniest Dirty Musical or Dirtiest Funny Musical. Ever.

This was my 4th or 5th Avenue Q experience -- I've lost count. But for me, it gets better every time, because just like each successive viewing of Blazing Saddles, you pick up jokes that you missed, or forgot about, or just wanted to hear yet again. And like Blazing Saddles, the story is so silly that it's great.

And now that the production has returned to Off-Broadway, from whence it came, the experience is, if anything, better. A relatively intimate performance space (in this case the excellent World Stages "multiplex") suits the whole Avenue Q concept so much better than a big Broadway theater (even a "small big" theater like the Golden, its Broadway home) and WAY better than that horrible, tacky, cavernous, ill-fated venue in Las Vegas.

If you grew up with Sesame Street, or watched with your kids as they grew up with it (or both, like me), you must see this show. I can't tell you why, really, because I don't want to spoil the numerous surprises. I will tell you that there are puppets involved, and the puppeteers are right there onstage, performing right alongside them. So keep your attention on the puppets, not the puppeteers; you miss lots of stuff if you watch the latter. There are also human (non-puppet) characters to keep track of, so it gets a bit confusing sometimes; but it's well worth the effort.

I should also mention that the puppets have X-rated mouths, and do some outrageous, X-rated things - so it is NOT a show for young kids.

I will also say if if you have adult kids, especially if one or more insisted on majoring in English, take them along.
And I'll tell you that one of the non-puppet characters is Gary Coleman. Yes, that Gary Coleman.
And I won't spoil anything else, I promise.
But remember Bert and Ernie?
Gay.

Written on May, 10th 2010

Really Freakin' Great Show!

Avenue Q was great! I don't get out to see a ton of plays, but I would love to see this one again, and more like it. It was hilarious, actors are so very talented, I was laughing the whole time. My boyfriend, who rarly goes to a play, was almost out of his seat in laughter! GO SEE IT!

Written on April, 15th 2010

What a great time!

This show is hilarious and so much fun! It is definately worth seeing. You have to know what you are getting into before hand however, and I think that previous reviewers who didn't like it just didn't know what to expect. If you have a good sense of humor, can handle a few curse words now and then, and want to have some fun laughing about the unfairness of life, then go see this show! The songs are so funny, honest, and reveal what all of us are thinking but afraid to say out loud. It is not for young children, but totally okay for the over 13 crowd. My teen didn't even flinch at the content - there is worse on network TV.

Written on August, 24th 2009

A Show With a Very Good Point! Definitely a Wonderful Show.

This is by all means, fun, enjoyable ADULT entertainment and I left laughing and feeling like I've just had the best time at a Broadway show that I've ever had. The talent of not just the actors, but the writers, producers, directors, musicians, it all adds up to a wonderful experience. It also brings a fresh reminder that the whole point of the story is that no matter who you are, there's no reason why you can't be nice to your neighbor, co-worker, and the people you meet everyday. The message was about NOT being racist and I for one, will be sad when this show closes. I do hope you make a DVD of this show before it's final curtain call. So many people will miss out if you don't.

Written on July, 13th 2009

AMAZING!

One of the best broadway shows I've seen in my life. True some of the things they say are blunt, but that's what makes this show so hilarious. The sheer uniqueness of this show is beyond compare. This so will have you laughing outloud throughout the entire day. I've seen it twice and will deffinatley be seeing it again. As for the people who suggest that this show is stupid and pointless, my statement to you is, "That's why Avenue Q beat out Wicked for best musical, right?"

Written on July, 10th 2009

Great show.

Last fall, at the TKTS booth in Southport, we inquired about Avenue Q, and were told it is a puppet show. We declined. Last month, June 2009, I was again in NYC with my 17-year-old daughter, and we decided to go ahead and try Avenue Q. We both loved it. The show is well put together, and quite unique. The songs aren't West Side Story, My Fair Lady, or South PAcific like wonders, but catchy and fun. The puppets are great, and the dynamic of the actors and actresses simultaneously playing the roles played by the puppets is fascinating. Offensive? I'm more offended by conversations I overhear on public streets and mass transportation than anything in this show. I suspect those who find themselves offended are reacting to subject matter that doesn't fit their ideological belief systems.

Written on July, 10th 2009

Smart and honest

Completely sensational. Sure, the songs are shocking (Everyone's A Little Bit Racist), but ultimately, I found them very honest. It was an exploration of the taboo side of human nature, done in a very fresh, clever way. And if the opening number (What Do You Do, With A BA in English?) isn't the most hilariously accurate song ever written, I don't know what is.
As for those people who are crying 'outrage,' if you've ever laughed at an episode of The Simpsons, this shouldn't distress you.

Written on June, 20th 2009

Showing 1 - 10 of 15